Mississinawa Valley


School District

Family Websites

MATH SITES

Math Practice -www.ixl.com -Practice makes perfect, and IXL makes math practice fun. Withunlimitedmath questions inmore than 1,000topics, students improve their skills and confidence and always have new challenges to meet.

Math Playground -http://www.mathplayground.com/ -Play with numbers and give your brain a workout.

Math Fact Cafe -http://www.mathfactcafe.com/ - Math fact practice and worksheets.

Create-A Graph -http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/default.aspx - At this interactive website you can create a real graph!

Math Problem of the week-http://mathforum.org/funpow/ - Math education majors at Swarthmore College create and post a new story problem each week during the school year.  Students may work individually or in groups to solve the problem, then submit their answers.  Correct answers are posted on the web the following week.  A nice supplement to classroom work.

Interactive Math Simulations and Quizzes -http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/math.htm -from basic to advanced math activities

READING & LANGUAGE ARTS SITES

The Bunk Room -www.thebunkroom.com -This is a magazine/publication written for kids by kids.  Check it out!

Game Goo -http://www.earobics.com/gamegoo/gooey.html -A great site from "Earobics" to help kids develop phonemic awareness, a necessary skill for beginning readers and writers.

Quia -http://www.quia.com/pages/havefun.html - Great language games and activities including analogies, comprehension, vocabulary/word knowledge, phonological awareness, and grammar.

The Hornbook -http://www.hbook.com/ - The Hornbook Website is notes about good books for children and teens.  Sign up for their monthly newsletter.


Funbrain -http://www.funbrain.com/dots/index.html - Connect the Dots - connect pictures by entering the alphabet, missing letters, or by the alphabet in reverse!

Storyline Online -http://www.storylineonline.net/index2.html - This site contains a variety of online audio books that are read by actors.

EduPlace -http://www.eduplace.com/tales/ - Students fill in parts of speech and are able to receive a wacky tale with their words!  Very cute!

Spelling City -http://www.spellingcity.com/ - A website that helps students learn their spelling words!

Reading First -http://www2.ed.gov/programs/readingfirst/legislation.html -Family resource site

Wordsmyth -www.wordsmyth.net -Dictionary and word activities
 
The Ultimate Guide to Spelling Resources - http://www.supersummary.com/spelling-guide/ 
 
 

FAMILY LEARNING TIPS AND TOOLS

AmericaReads:  What Can You Do? -http://www2.ed.gov/parents/read/resources/edpicks.jhtml -Through this website, the U.S. Dept. of Education offers tips and strategies to encourage literacy development in young children.

Born to Read -http://www.ala.org/alsc/schoolplcoop -From the American Library Association, this website offers ideas, resource links and book lists to help children become active, engaged readers from a young age.

CodeRedRover -http://www.healthgamesresearch.org/games/code-red-rover-games-great-safety-adventure-games-who-ordered-pizza-quick-safety-quiz-penelope -Developed by the Home Safety Council, these interactive games with Rover the Home Safety Hound teach children about staying safe around the house.

Crayola -www.crayola.com -This site offers a wealth of educational games for children, arts and crafts ideas for families, and resources on how families can become effectively involved in their child's learning experience.

Fun Brain -www.funbrain.com -Fun Brain offers reading games, math games, and brain puzzlers for children in grades K-8.

MightyBook -www.mightybook.com -To help children develop literacy skills, this site features animated books, stories, jokes, and games.

National Institute for Literacy -https://www.federalregister.gov/agencies/national-institute-for-literacy -Look here for free articles and publications on how parents and families can help their children learn to read and improve their reading skills.

nickjr. -www.nickjr.com -Here you will find games, activities, and videos for preschool age children designed to help them connect learning experiences with the world around them.

PBS Kids -pbskids.org
PBS Parents -www.pbs.org/parents/ -The Public Broadcasting system offers these two sites with information on child development and interactive learning games for children and families.

Reading Rockets -www.readingrockets.org -Reading Rockets offers strategies and tools for parents, families, and teachers to help children improve their reading skills.

Sesame Workshop -www.sesameworkshop.org -Creators of the Sesame Street TV show present educational games and videos for children.  A special section for parents offers information about child development and how to navigate new experiences, such as a dr. visit or the first day of school, with a pre-school age child.

Seussville -www.seussville.com -On the Suessville Playground, Dr. Suess characters guide children through games and story building.

U.S. Dept. of Education Tips for Parents -http://www2.ed.gov/parents/landing.jhtml -This federal site provides  comprehensive resource for parents and families on how to help their children succeed in school.

SCIENCE

Brain Connection -www.brainconnection.com - Learn more about your brain.  Also, play some great memory games under the "brain teaser" tab.

National Geographic Kids -kids.nationalgeographic.com-Part of the National Geographic Society's mission is to "encourage geography education for students and promote natural and cultural conservation."  This website contains videos, activities, games, and stories for children about nature, culture, and history.

National Wildlife Federation -www.nwf.org/kids.aspx -This site provides wildlife and conservation-related coloring pages, games, book reviews, science activities and recipes for children and their families.  Parents can sign up to receive the free monthly Backyard Buddies e-newsletter.

Watch a Bear and her Cub LIVE in their Den -www.bear.org

MISCELLANEOUS

At Home & AfterSchool -www.thinkfinity.org -This site has some great tools for practicing literacy skills such as "construct-a-word."  There are great suggestions for how to work with your kids on related skills as well.  Future scientists will want to check out some of the online games and tools also.

Wonderopolis -www.wonderopolis.org -Ever wonder what a supernova is?  What makes popcorn pop?  Or what bees do in the winter when it's cold out?  Check out a new wonder every day!

ePals -www.epals.com -Kids as young as 5 can use this free site that links students, teachers, and parents in 200 countries and territories.  Correspond with a child in another country, connect with a class, or join an online forum.  All exchanges are monitored by teachers.

Marsh -http://www.marsh.net - Register your Marsh "Fresh Idea" Card so you can help earn supplies for our school! Sign up begins August 15th!  Our school code is 40393.  Our goal is $100,000 in tape receipts.

LifePrint -http://www.lifeprint.com/asl101/ - Learn basic sign language

Kids Health -http://kidshealth.org/ - There are pages for parents, kids, and teens relating to all kinds of information such as how to deal with anger, everyday illnesses, recipes, and games.

Kids Psych -http://www.kidspsych.org/index1.html - This site was created "to help with cognitive thinking skills, deductive reasoning, and also just to have some fun!"

Ohio Department of Education -www.ode.state.oh.us -Family resource site